Skip to main content Go to Site Map

Honorary Fellows

We've awarded Honorary Fellowships to staff, alumni and people who've made a significant contribution to the fields of arts, design, media and performance

Honorary Fellows banner

Meet our Honorary Fellows

An Honorary Fellowship is a highly prestigious award which we can bestow to persons who have connected with Art University Bournemouth and made a significant contribution to the field of arts, design, media or performance in a professional capacity or an educational role. You can see our Honorary Fellows below.

Honorary Fellows 2022

Glyn Maxwell

Glyn’s work has won acclaim and recognition across a range of national theatre, poetry and literary awards, including the E.M. Forster...

Adjoa Andoh

She is also known for playing Nenneke in series two of The Witcher (also for Netflix), as well as playing major roles in Clint Eastwood's...

Molly Manning-Walker

Her graduation film as cinematographer, November 1st, was shortlisted for a BAFTA and awarded Bronze at the Student Academy Awards, with...

Joel Wallace Erabu

Wallace completed his Master of Architecture with Distinction from Arts University Bournemouth, after a prosperous odyssey that commenced...

Michael Grubb

Michael has created lighting works for iconic brands including Lush, Guinness, and London’s V&A Museum, amassing a portfolio of...

Honorary Fellows 2020/21

Tom Hovey

Perhaps most well-known for his food illustration work, Tom has created animated illustrations for the multi-award winning TV show...

The initials 'BC' on a yellow, purple and grey background.

Brian Clarke

Internationally renowned for his visually captivating, intricate and prominent large-scale stained-glass art installations...

Zelda Cheatle

Working to build both corporate and private collections, in 1989 Zelda opened the Zelda Cheatle Gallery in Covent Garden before...

Caroline Norbury

Caroline Norbury is a producer, trustee and the founding chief executive of Creative England and Creative Industries Federation...

Professor Stuart Bartholomew

Professor Stuart Bartholomew is an educator, fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and former Principal and Vice-Chancellor of AUB...

Honorary Fellows 2019

Vivianne Westwood

Dame Vivienne Westwood DBE

Dame Vivienne Westwood is a British fashion designer, best known for her work in bringing punk and new wave fashion to the wider public.

Peter Lord HF

Peter Lord CBE

Peter Lord is co-owner and Creative Director of Aardman Animations where he pioneered techniques in motion animation using clay puppets.

Mike Davies CBE

Mike Davies is an architect who was awarded a CBE in 2000 by Her Majesty The Queen and has been an architect for some of the country’s mo...

Yellow, purple and white banner with the letters 'DS' in the centre.

Dougie Scarfe

Dougie Scarfe became Chief Executive of the highly-acclaimed Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra (BSO) in 2012, after pursuing a lifelong care...

Honorary Fellows 2018

Edgar Wright

Edgar Wright is a Poole-born director, screenwriter and producer now working in Hollywood. In 1994 he received a National Diploma in Audi...

Dame Darcey Bussell DBE

Dame Darcey Bussell DBE is the most famous British ballet dancer of her generation. She trained at The Royal Ballet School before joining...

Jenny Beavan OBE

Jenny Beavan OBE is an English costume designer and two-time Oscar winner. After being a pupil at Putney High School in the late 1960s sh...

Margaret Calvert OBE

Margaret Calvert OBE RDI is a graphic designer and typographer best known for designing Britain’s road signing system.

Honorary Fellows 2017

A tile with the letters NF on a yellow and purple background

Lord Norman Foster OM

Architect and Founder and Executive Chairman of Foster + Partners

Betty Jackson CBE

Fashion Designer

Darren Henley OBE

Chief Executive of Arts Council England

Honorary Fellows 2010-2016

Sebastian Conran

Designer for Conran & Partners

Jane Law

Costume Cutter and Designer

Christopher Bailey MBE

Chief Creative Officer at Burberry

Rosy Greenlees

Executive Director of the Crafts Council

Sue Lyster

Director of Operations, Industrial Light and Magic

Martin Roth

Director of the Victoria and Albert Museum

Dr. Lucy Kimbell

Designer, Researcher and Educator

Professor Helen Storey MBE

Artist and Designer

Pete Fowler

Artist and monster creator

Mat Hunter

Chief Design Officer, Design Council

Dave Alex Riddett

Cinematographer, Aardman Animations

Nick Dudman

Special Make–up Effects artist

Lucy Orta

Contemporary Visual Artist

The initials 'MM' appear on a yellow, purple and grey background.

Morag Myerscough

Graphic Designer

Paul Elliot

Theatre Producer and ‘King of Pantomime’

Terence Davies

Screenwriter, Film Director, Novelist and Actor

Chris Britton / Forkbeard Fantasy

Multi-Media Theatre Company

Caryn Franklin

Writer and Presenter



Bob & Roberta Smith

Contemporary British Artist

Neill Gorton

Prosthetics Artist

Gunther Kress

Professor of Semiotics

Michaël Dudok de Wit

Animator and Illustrator

Honorary Fellows 2003-2009

Roger Dean

Illustrator and Designer

Linda Mattock

Costume Designer

Philip Townsend


Stuart Craig

Production Designer

Nigel Beale

AUB Chairman

Jacques Azagury

Fashion Designer

John Makepeace OBE

Cabinetmaker and Designer

Lewis Gilbert OBE

Film Producer and Director (deceased)

Mary Mullin

Design Specialist

Nigel Trow

Photographer, Author and AUB Governor

Grenville Davey

Artist and Sculptor

Lesley Morris

Designer and Academic

Huw Penalt Jones

Film Producer

Cherrill Scheer

Furniture Designer

Karl Weschke

Artist (deceased)

Chris Briscoe

Creative Director

Carol Lingwood

Costume Designer

Flavia Swann

Design Historian

Honorary Fellows 1998-2002

Clive Juster

Animation Producer and AUB Governor

Martyn Rowlands

Designer (deceased)

Paul Watson

Filmmaker and AUB Governor

Michael Harvey

Typographer and AUB Governor

Ossie Morris OBE


Wolfgang Tillmans

Artist, Photographer and AUB Alumnus

David Bradley

AUB Governor

Andy Earl

Photographer and AUB Governor

Professor Simon Olding

Museum Curator and Director

Alan Plater

Scriptwriter (deceased)

Chris Windsor

Modelmaker (deceased)

Gary Cook


Jean Hunnisett

Costume Designer (deceased)

Ken Morse

Film Cameraman

Daphne Teague

Fashion Designer and AUB Governor

Nick Knight

Photographer and AUB alumnus

Suri Krishnamma

Filmmaker and AUB alumnus

John Millward

AUB Governor

2020 has been an incredibly challenging year for everyone, with sacrifices made by so many – not least by our Graduates.

Celebrating the achievements of our Class of 2020/2021 graduates

More on graduation