General information

Honorary Fellows

AUB makes the award of Honorary Fellowship to persons who have made a significant contribution to the field of arts, design, media or performance in a professional capacity or an educational role.

This year, we recognised Betty Jackson CBE, Christopher Bailey MBE, Darren Henley OBE, Jane Law, Lord Norman Foster OM and Sebastian Conran as Honorary Fellows. You can read more about them below:

Betty Jackson CBE

Betty Jackson is one of Britain’s most prominent and internationally respected designers, having started out her career as a fashion illustrator during her senior year at college in 1971.

She was awarded Contemporary Designer of the Year in 1999 at the London Fashion Awards and was appointed a trustee of the V&A in 2005. In 2007, she received a CBE in the Queen’s birthday honours list.

Betty Jackson has created a design vocabulary that is enduring and instantly recognisable. Visual Arts have always been her inspiration.

Christopher Bailey MBE

Christopher is the Chief Creative Officer at Burberry. His career in design began at Donna Karan, where he worked as Womenswear Designer. In 2006, he went on to work for Tom Ford at Gucci as Senior Designer of Womenswear. He joined Burberry as Creative Director in 2011. Christopher has won the British Fashion Awards Menswear Designer of the Year award three times and was crowned Designer of the Year in 2009.

Christopher was honoured with an MBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list in the same year. In 2014, he was pronounced Designer of the Year in GQ’s Men of the Year Awards, before winning the Editor’s Choice Award at the Elle Style Awards in 2015. Christopher co-founded the Burberry Foundation, dedicated to helping young people realise their dreams and potential through the power of their creativity.

Darren Henley OBE

Darren Henley is chief executive of Arts Council England, which is responsible for championing, developing and investing in great art and culture for everyone across the country.

His career started at his local radio station in Kent before he joined Classic FM in 1992. After working his way through the ranks, he led the radio station for fifteen years.

In 2011 and 2012, he wrote two government reviews on music and cultural education that resulted in initiatives including England’s first national plan for music education, new networks of Music Education Hubs and Heritage Schools, the Museums and Schools programme, the BFI Film Academy and the National Youth Dance Company. Appointed an OBE for services to music in 2013, Darren Henley is also the author and co-author of thirty books.

Jane Law 

Jane is an award-winning costume cutter, maker and occasional designer who has worked in the theatre and film industry for nearly 40 years. After studying theatre design, Jane began her career designing and making costumes for local theatres and opera festivals. Since moving into the film industry in 1994, Jane has worked on more than 70 feature films, including the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise, Mission Impossible 5Alice Through the Looking GlassThe Iron LadyMad Max; Fury Road and Cinderella.

Jane has also been involved in the design development and making of key costumes for the annual Victoria’s Secret shows. She is widely recognised for her expertise in historical cutting and refined making, as well as creating flamboyant feature costumes.

AUB conferred an Honorary Master in Arts upon Jane Law.

Lord Norman Foster OM

Norman Foster, Lord Foster of Thames Bank OM, is a British architect who is Founder and Executive Chairman of Foster + Partners, a global studio for architecture, urbanism and design.

He is widely regarded as Britain’s most innovative architect of his generation and one of the world’s pre-eminent architects.

In 1999, he was awarded the Pritzker Architecture Prize, often referred to as the Nobel Prize of architecture.

In 2016, Lord Foster commissioned AUB Modelmaking students to build a replica of the original model of the Reichstag dome for the Norman Foster Foundation. The Reichstag building, which opened in 1999, was designed by Lord Foster to symbolise the reunification of Germany. The model is now housed in the Norman Foster Foundation, which was opened in Madrid on the 1st June, 2017.

Sebastian Conran

Sebastian designs innovative, stylish and satisfying products for clients as varied as John Lewis, Virgin Atlantic, Nigella Lawson and Nissan.  His career started at Wolff Olins and Mothercare in the mid 80’s as Chief Designer, before setting up what is now known as Conran & Partners.

Sebastian is one of three designers in his family, along with his father Sir Terence Conran and his elder brother, Fashion Designer, Jasper Conran. As well as being trustee of London’s Design Museum, he is also on the council of the UK Design Council.

Current and Past Fellows:


  • Rosy Greenlees, Executive Director of the Crafts Council
  • Sue Lyster, Director of Operations, Industrial Light and Magic
  • Sarah Parish, Actress
  • Martin Roth, Director of the Victoria and Albert Museum


  • Dr. Lucy Kimbell, Designer, Researcher and Educator
  • Professor Helen Storey, MBE, Artist and Designer


  • Pete Fowler, Artist and monster creator
  • Mat Hunter, Chief Design Officer, Design Council
  • Dave Alex Riddett, Cinematographer, Aardman Animations
  • Nick Dudman, Special make–up effects artist


  • Lucy Orta, Contemporary Visual Artist
  • Morag Myerscough, Graphic Designer
  • Paul Elliot, Theatre Producer and ‘King of Pantomime’
  • Terence Davies, Screen Writer, Film Director, Novelist and Actor


  • Chris Britton / Forkbeard Fantasy, Multi-Media Theatre Company
  • Caryn Franklin, Writer and Presenter
  • Platon, Photographer
  • Bob & Roberta Smith, Contemporary British Artist


  • Neill Gorton, Prosthetics Artist
  • Greta Scacchi, Actress
  • Gunther Kress, Professor of Semiotics
  • Michaël Dudok de Wit, Animator and Illustrator


  • Roger Dean, Illustrator and Designer
  • Linda Mattock, Costume Designer
  • Philip Townsend, Photographer


  • Professor Sir Peter Cook, Architect
  • Stuart Craig, Production Designer
  • Nigel Beale, AUB Chairman


  • Jacques Azagury, Fashion Designer
  • John Makepeace OBE, Cabinetmaker and Designer


  • Frank Bowling OBE RA, Artist
  • Lewis Gilbert OBE, Film Producer and Director
  • Mary Mullin, Design Specialist
  • Nigel Trow, Photographer, Author and AUB Governor


  • Grenville Davey, Artist and Sculptor
  • Lesley Morris, Designer and Academic


  • Huw Penalt Jones, Film Producer
  • Cherrill Scheer, Furniture Designer
  • Karl Weschke, Artist (deceased)


  • Basil Beattie, Artist
  • Chris Briscoe, Creative Director
  • Bruno Gaumetou, Animator
  • Carol Lingwood, Costume Designer
  • Flavia Swann, Design Historian
  • Alison Wilding, Sculptor


  • Clive Juster, Animation Producer and AUB Governor
  • Ian McKeever, Artist
  • Martyn Rowlands, Designer (deceased)
  • Paul Watson, Filmmaker and AUB Governor


  • Michael Harvey, Typographer and AUB Governor
  • Ossie Morris OBE, Cinematographer
  • Wolfgang Tillmans, Artist, Photographer and AUB Alumnus


  • David Bradley, AUB Governor
  • Andy Earl, Photographer and AUB Governor
  • Professor Simon Olding, Museum Curator and Director
  • Alan Plater, Scriptwriter (deceased)
  • Chris Windsor, Modelmaker (deceased)


  • Gary Cook, Illustrator
  • Jean Hunnisett, Costume Designer (deceased)
  • Ken Morse, Film Cameraman
  • Daphne Teague, Fashion Designer and AUB Governor


  • Nick Knight, Photographer and AUB alumnus
  • Suri Krishnamma, Filmmaker and AUB alumnus
  • John Millward, AUB Governor