BA (Hons) coursesInterior Architecture and Design

Industry Placements

Work experience is an integral and valued part of the Interior Architecture and Design programme.

All students are given an option to undertake a work placement for the last term of their second year of study. The student produces a weekly Log Sheet submitted on a Blog they have created for their placement, documenting their experience. This enables them to share their experience with fellow students. Additionally students submit a report relating to their experience, focussing on a case study and reflection of their experience, handed-in at the end of their placement period. It is this report, and their log sheets, that form the assessment of the placement.

The onus is placed on the student to find their own work experience through production of CVs and websites, developed within the course, with the course team offering full support in guidance on cv’s, portfolios, websites, letters and applications and references. The course has an extremely good record in securing placement opportunities with many students going on to be offered regular holiday work as well as employment opportunities after graduation. Listed below are just some of the design offices who have provided placements over the past two years (with website links).

• AHMM, London w: www.ahmm.co.uk

• Andy Stone Interiors, Hove, Sussex w: www.andystone.co.uk

• Custom House Design, Exeter w: www.customhousedesign.co.uk

• Design Unlimited,(Superyacht interiors), Wareham, Hampshire w: www.designunlimited.net

• European Urban Architecture Limited, London w: www.europeanurban.com

• Focus Design, Winchester, Hampshire w: www.focus-design.co.uk

• Foggo Associates, London w: www.foggo.com

• HMKM, London w: www.hmkm.com

• KKA, Architecture & Interiors, Liverpool, Merseyside w: www.kka.ltd.uk

• Michael Grubb Studio (Lighting Consultants), Bournemouth w: www.michaelgrubbstudio.com

• Parker Liddell, Clatford, Hants w: www.parkerliddell.co.uk

• RWD Yacht Design, Brockenhurst, Hampshire, w: www.rwd.co.uk

• Sheppard Robson ID:SR, London, w: www.sheppardrobson.com

• Space & Solutions, (Office Interiors), New Milton w: www.spaceandsolutions.com

• Squirrel Design Consultants Ltd, Chagford, Devon,w: www.squirrel-design.co.uk

• Tigers Eye Architecture, Poole, w: www.tigerseyearchitecture.com